Ashtanga Yoga – Is it Right for You?

How to Begin Ashtanga Yoga Poses

Astanga or sometimes spelled ashtanga Yoga, is taught today in India by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. He brought astanga yoga to western civilization around 25 years ago, and still teaches it today at the age of 91. Astanga yoga was born out of the discovery of the ancient manuscript Yoga Korunta. It describes an exclusive system of Hatha Yoga as it was practiced and developed by Vamana Rishi, an ancient sage. It is believed that it is the original asana Patanjali intended.

Vinyasa is a form of breath-synchronized movement that emphasizes yoga. It involves a specific posture and associated breathing patterns. This breathing technique, also known as ujayyi pranayama (or the victorious breathe), produces intense internal heat and a sweaty sensation that cleanses and detoxifies the body and muscles. It releases healthy hormones and nutrients and is often massaged back into your body. Blood circulation is improved by the breath. You will experience improved circulation, a strong and light body and calm mind.

Astanga yoga requires that you follow a specific sequence. To move on to the next sequence, one must first complete each series of poses. The Primary Series (Yoga Chikitsa), detoxifies and aligns your body. It purifies it so that toxins don’t block. The Intermediate Series (Nadi Shadhana), purifies the nervous system and opens up the energy channels to allow energy to flow freely. The Advanced Series A (Sthira Bhaga), B, C, D (Nadi Shodhana) combine the grace and endurance of the practice. This requires a lot of flexibility.

Ashtanga Yoga primary series

You should find a qualified teacher who can guide you through this discipline. This is a rigorous practice that takes place six days per week. With each breath, you will find inner peace and fulfillment.

See also  Teachers Share Favorite Morning Stretches Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga was the first type of yoga to be urbanized and established by K. Pattabhi Jois. This type of yoga is also known as Eight Limb Yoga, which was created by Pattanjali. It revealed that the path to purification is comprised of eight spiritual practices.

The four limbs representing Ashtanga Yoga’s first four limbs are yama, niyama and asana. These are cleansing practices that can be externally corrected. These are internal practices.

Only Ashtanga Yoga can correct these limbs. This yoga method can be very dangerous for the mind.

Ashtanga Yoga Poses for Beginner

K. Pattabhi Jois stated that it is impossible to practice the Eight Limbs, as well as the sub-limbs of external practices such as the niyama or yama. To be able to perform these practices, the body must be strong enough. The practice of practicing will not be effective if the body or sense organs are weak.

K. Pattabhi Jois’s philosophy is that your body will become stronger and more healthy if you do Ashtanga Yoga.

Ashtanga Yoga teaches Vinsaya, Tristhana and other techniques.

Vinsaya is a style which makes Ashtanga and its principles distinct from all others. Vinsaya is the combination of movement and breathing that is used to cleanse the body. Every movement is only possible with one breath.

Vinsaya’s most important product is sweat. If you make sweat it is a sign that you have successfully applied the practice. Asanas cause the body to produce heat, which causes blood to boil and expels the toxins. Your sweat contains the toxins. The more you sweat, the more toxic substances are released.

See also  Advantages of Yoga based on The Christian Viewpoints

These yoga poses can be used to increase strength and improve the health of your body. This is possible because of the series of practices. Ashtanga Yoga has three types of postures.

They are classified at different levels. The Primary Series is the first, and it aims to align the body as well as detoxify it.

Ashtanga Yoga Series for Beginner

The second is the Intermediate Series, which opens and cleans the energy channels. This leads to the purification of the Nervous System.

The Advanced Series, A to D would be the last series. In this series, grace and strength are measured.

Another yoga principle, the Tristhana, represents the union between the three places action and attention. The posture is first, then the breathing technique and lastly the Dristhi at the Looking Place. To perform a function, all three must work together.

How to do Ashtanga Yoga for Beginner

Breathing techniques should be synchronized and simultaneous. It is important that you only take one breath per movement. Ujjayi Breathing refers to the Yoga Breathing Technique that is used in Ashtanga Yoga. This technique should be used for a prolonged period after each practice. You must be able to hold your posture longer while still holding your breath. This amazing breathing exercise will help increase your internal fire as well as strengthen your Nervous System.

Tristhana and Ashtanga both deal with the Dristhi series. The Dristhi can be described as the point at which you focus your attention or gain your focus while performing Asana. This allows your mind to be clear and stable.

Only Eight-Limb Yoga and Ashtanga Yoga can clear the mind and cleanse it.

See also  Perfect Yoga Positions for Beginners - A few Tips for Basic Yoga Poses